National Headliner Awards 2017

On April 19, 2017 by M. Scott Mahaskey

Pleased and honored to announce a couple of awards in the 2017 National Headliner Awards contest:


Photo essay/story

First Place

“Dallas July 7th Shooting”

Dallas Morning News staff

Dallas Morning News, Dallas, Texas

Second Place

“Kobe Bryant’s Farewell Tour”

Wally Skalij

Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles, Calif.

Third Place

“Kentucky’s Second Amendment Paradise”

M. Scott Mahaskey

Politico, Arlington, Va.

Magazines, news services or syndicates feature or sports photography

First Place

“Gay Pride”

Daniel Ochoa de Olza

Associated Press, New York, N.Y.

Second Place

“Portrait with Grenade Launcher”

M. Scott Mahaskey

Politico, Arlington, Va.

About the contest:

Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards program is one of the oldest and largest annual contests recognizing journalistic merit in the communications industry.

The first National Headliner Awards were presented in 1935.  Since then, more than 2,000 Headliner medallions have been presented to outstanding writers, photographers, daily newspapers, magazines, graphic artists, radio and television stations and networks, and news syndicates.

Comments are closed.